12 April 2012

Alaskans, HB80 Needs Your Help


Anchorage 2nd Amendment Task Force Newsletter

To: Rev. Paul [redacted]


HB80 Needs Your Help
Please ask Finance Chair Senator Stedman to schedule HB80 for a vote. Please be respectful but firm that we want a vote on this bill. Senator Stedman doesn’t want to be left holding the blame for this bill not passing.

From the NRA:
House Bill 80, critical self-defense legislation, passed in the state House at the end of last session, and was reported by the state Senate Judiciary Committee on March 23.  This bill has since been languishing in the Senate Finance Committee. With only three days left in this legislative session, it is imperative that HB 80 be heard in committee immediately.

Introduced by state Representative Mark Neuman (R-15), HB 80 is important self-defense legislation that would provide that a law-abiding person, who is justified in using deadly force in self-defense, has “no duty-to-retreat” from an attack if the person is in any place that that person has a legal right to be.

If your state Senator is a member of the Senate Finance Committee, please contact him or her TODAY and respectfully request that he or she vote for HB 80 and move it to the Senate floor.  The committee members’ contact information is provided below. To determine who your state Senator is, please click here.

You can contact your state Senator and all the members of the Senate Finance Committee at the same time, by taking advantage of Alaska’s Public Opinion Messaging (POM) system offered through Alaska’s Legislative Information Offices (LIO).  For information on the LIOs and how the POM system works, please click here; to utilize the online POM form, please click here.

Senate Finance Committee:
Senator Hoffman (D-S), Co-Chairman
465-4453
Senator_Lyman_Hoffman@legis.state.ak.us

Senator Stedman (D-A), Co-Chairman
465-3873
Senator_Bert_Stedman@legis.state.ak.us

Senator Egan (D-B)
465-4947
Senator_Dennis_Egan@legis.state.ak.us

Senator Ellis (D-L)
465-3704
Senator_Johnny_Ellis@legis.state.ak.us

Senator McGuire (R-N)
465-2995
Senator_Lesil_McGuire@legis.state.ak.us

Senator Olson (D-T)
465-3707
Senator_Donald_Olson@legis.state.ak.us

Senator Thomas (D-D)
465-2327
Senator_Joe_Thomas@legis.state.ak.us

No comments: